You need to count your steps.

You need to count your steps.

Motivational Sunday

We are all born with an expiration date. The question is, “In what condition do we get there?”  I recently heard an address to the Cleveland City Club on May 10, 2013 featuring Dr. Michael F. Roizen[1], Chief Wellness Officer of the Cleveland Clinic. One of the items that struck me was the discussion how taking 10,000 steps a day reduced morbidity (the relative incidence of disease). I bought myself a pedometer and promptly found out that unless I ran four or more miles a day that 10,000 steps was not happening unless I worked at it.  Working at it means, walking the long way to a meeting or taking a walk at lunch. IT jobs are, by nature, sedentary and probably worse if you are ensconced in front of a laptop working from home.

According to Dr. Oz  and Dr. Roizen[2] the benefits that have been attributed to walking 10,000 includes losing weight, improved blood pressure, lowering LDL, increasing HDL and decreasing inflammation. I would add another benefit, in my humble opinion, is that exercise helps sharpen the mind. I spend my daily jogging time planning my day and thinking about the world and my place in it. When I discovered that something as simple as taking 10,000 steps a day can help me stay sharp and reduce the chance of a debilitating illness I am interested. When that activity can be coupled with measurement and feedback loops, I am all in.

I now use my pedometer to tracking my steps on a daily basis. I am also tracking my weight and food intake (I have an app for that) and I am looking forward to my next annual checkup. Like the majority of you that read the Daily Process Thoughts, I make my living from my wits and I think it’s a lot of fun.  Anything that helps me stay on my game and lets me keep score is a step in the right direction.

