Podcamp Toronto

I am attending the 10th anniversary PodCamp Toronto 2016.  Podcamp Toronto is an unconference that is focused on social media, podcasting and content marketing.  Why did I start attending Podcamps and other content marketing conferences?  On one level, it is simple, I am interested. It is complicated on another level, I am a bit of an introvert and the people that attended were not people that I normally rub shoulders with on a day-to-day basis. Therefore attending is a push outside of my comfort zone. Attending conferences like Podcamp help me extend my skills in podcasting, help me make new friends and has occasionally sparked new interests.  Said another way, attending Podcamps has helped me to continuously reinvent myself.  As I am sitting in the halls and classrooms on Ryerson University, I would like you to ask yourself: what are you doing to reinvent yourself?  While we are taking a break from the standard Re-read Saturday fare spend a few minutes contemplating what new idea or skill you would like to explore, and thinking about what is the next step in making the exploration a reality. 

When you are done contemplating the future, we can think about which book we should tackle in the Re-Read Saturday series! We are approximately 2/3rds of the way through the re-read of How to Measure Anything, Finding the Value of “Intangibles in Business” Third Edition; therefore, it is time to start discussing what is next.  I want to open the field up a bit to include new books that might “first-reads”.  For example Steven Adams has suggested that we read Commitment – Novel About Managing Project Risk by Olav Maassen and Chris Matts.  I have not read the book but he has piqued my interest with his suggestion.  I would like your ideas on the books we should add to the poll which we will kick off next week and which we should remove.  Building on the list we used to select HTMA, we have the follow books in our “possible” queue:

Commitment – Novel About Managing Project Risk – Olav Maassen and Chris Matts

Playing to Win – A.G. Lafley and Roger Martin

Beyond the Obvious – Phil McKinney

Thinking Fast and Slow – Daniel Kahneman

Extreme Programming Explained: Embrace Change – Kent Beck and Cynthia Andres

Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right – Atul Gawande

Waltzing with Bears: Managing Risk on Software Projects – Tom DeMarco and Timothy Lister

Kanban: Successful Evolutionary Change for Your Technology Business – David J. Anderson and Donald G. Reinertsen

Peopleware: Productive Projects and Teams – Tom DeMarco and Timothy Lister

The Lean Startup: How Today’s Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses – Eric Ries

Product Development Flow: Second Generation Lean Product Development – Donald G. Reinertsen

The Art of Software Testing -Glenford J. Myers and Corey Sandler

Slack: Getting Past Burnout, Busywork, and the Myth of Total Efficiency – Tom DeMarco

Like reinventing yourself, there is no harm in reinventing the list but to do that I need your thoughts and ideas! Email mail us directly (spamcastinfo@gmail.com) or add your thoughts to the comments below!

