Kevin Kruse's book: 15 Secrets Successful People Know About Time Management

Time is a resource that everybody struggles to manage. Kevin Kruse’s new book, 15 Secrets Successful People Know About Time Management, outlines a set of tools that he has extracted from interviews with highly successful entrepreneurs, academics, and students. The 15 secrets include recognizing that there are only 1,440 minutes a day (be careful of those that ask you if you have a minute), identifying and focusing on your single most important task, and abandoning your to-do lists for a calendar. None of these or the other 12 secrets is easy to adopt if you are not already practicing time management techniques. While these techniques are not easy, you can unlearn less effective techniques based on purported common knowledge.

I have already been able to adopt a number of the practices, much to the chagrin of colleagues that don’t want an agenda that begins with the highest value item rather than something easy.

The book lays out the 15 secrets and then shares outtakes from Kevin’s conversations with students, entrepreneurs and academics. Frankly, I got little from the interviews with the academics and wish there were fewer. I got the most from the students (this section, I felt, ran a bit long also, but when I looked at all that I had highlighted, I recognized that my feeling was probably wrong).

Overall, I believe this book is extremely useful to me, even though I am old hand at time management. Regardless of whether you think you are a time management pro or are just starting to deal with trying to manage your own time, 15 Secrets Successful People Know About Time Management will be a valuable tool for helping you to manage your time successfully.

Buy Kevin’s book in paper or  Kindle eBook format!

Next week the vacation is over and we will get back to the Mythical-Man Month!

